Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Latest news on COVID-19 and information on Sullivan's Island entry, restrictions and beach closures.  Click Here.

In an abundance of caution and following the advice of the Centers for Disease Control, Wednesday collection of yard debris will be suspended indefinitely due to the continued spread of COVID-19.  Residents are asked not to place any debris street-side until further notice.  

 Click here to read the final report on Accreted Land Management Plan from Biohabitats.

Click here to read revised pre-proposal draft language for the National Fish and Wildlife Federation's Coastal Resilience Grant Fund. 

Dog Licenses

Dog Licenses are required for all dogs on Sullivan's Island streets, private property or beaches per the Town Code Section 3-7. Licenses are available at Town Hall from 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. Customers are required to present a valid driver's license with your current address and a rabies vaccination certificate issued by a licensed veterinarian. 

Licenses are $25.00 for residents of Sullivan's Island. Sullivan's Island residency is verified by the address provided on a current South Carolina driver's license. The cost is $50.00 for all others. There is a $2.00 discount for dogs that have been certified by the American Kennel Club Canine Good Citizenship Program. Certification must be presented at the time of application. We accept cash, check and credit/debit cards for licenses. Service charges may apply. 

Mailed applications are accepted for an additional $5.00 for shipping and processing. Please note: all applications are required to be notarized prior to submission unless the application is presented in person at Town Hall. 

Beach Hours for Dogs

Summer hours for dogs on the beach run from May 1st to September 30th. During that time dogs can be off leash from 5:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m., on leash from 6:00 p.m. to 5 a.m. No dogs are permitted on the beach between the hours of 10:00 a.m and 6:00 pm. Winter hours for dogs on the beach run from October 1st to April 30th. During that time dogs can be off leash from 5:00 a.m. to noon and on leash from Noon to 5:00 a.m. 

It is the law that anyone with custody of a dog must collect the dogs waste and dispose of it in a waste receptacle. Dog waste bags are provided in parks and at beach paths.