Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Town Hall will close Wednesday, November 23, 2022 at 3pm in celebration of Thanksgiving and reopen Monday, November 28, 2022. Essential first response staff will remain active 24/7.

Meet the Administrative Staff

Andy Benke

Andy Benke was appointed to serve as Town Administrator for Sullivan’s Island on 06/23/03. He is charged by the Mayor & Town Council to oversee the operations of the Town, implement policies & decisions made by Town Council, budget accountability & preparation, and emergency preparedness. He can be reached at 843-883-5726 or abenke@sullivansisland.sc.gov.  

Joe Henderson

Joe Henderson has served as Director of Planning and Zoning Administrator since June of 2013. In May 2022 he was promoted to Deputy Administrator. In this capacity he will assist the Town Administrator with overseeing various town projects. Joe can be reached at 843-883-5731 or  jhenderson@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Jason Blanton

Jason Blanton was hired in 2007 as the comptroller to supervise the quality of accounting and financial reporting for the Town. In addition to serving as the comptroller he serves as manager of administrative services in Town Hall. He can be reached at 843-883-5751 or jblanton@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Jacky Gypin

Jacky Gypin was hired in 2021 and is our Administrative Assistant. She grew up on Sullivan’s Island, graduated from Presbyterian College, and traveled the world around before returning to her roots. She can assist you with dog licenses, beach bonfires, and any other questions you may have. She can be reached at 843-883-5743 or jgypin@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Pam Otto

Pam Otto is the Human Resources Manager and has worked for the Town of Sullivan’s Island since June of 2017.  She coordinates all of the employee benefits and risk management for the Town. She also manages the Sullivan's Island Farmers Market. She can be reached at 843-883-5744 or potto@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Mary Poole

Mary Poole was hired in February of 2007. Her responsibilities include resident services, water and sewer billing services and general administrative support. Mary is also a member of the Sullivan’s Island Volunteer Fire & Rescue Squad. She can be reached at 843-883-5733 or mpoole@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Bridget Welch

Bridget Welch was hired in 2016 as the receptionist. She has elevated to the role of Town Clerk and is responsible for maintaining all official & archives for the Town, attend Council meetings, handle revenue collections and prepare deposits. Bridget is also a member of the Sullivan’s Island Volunteer Fire & Rescue Squad. She can be reached at 843-883-5730 or bwelch@sullivansisland.sc.gov.

Becky Williams

Becky Williams was hired as the Clerk of Court in 2020. She is responsible for Court correspondence, scheduling and payments. She helps guide the court process and assist when necessary and possible. She can be reached at 843-883-5734 or bwilliams@sullivansisland.sc.gov.